Where to find the serial number, model by model
| AED | Where the serial is | Format | Pad and battery dates | Register |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Philips HeartStart OnSite (M5066A) and Home (M5068A) | On the back of the unit | Starts with A, then 2-digit year and a month letter (for example A09B-xxxxx) | Battery: install-by date on its label. Pads: expiry date on the package | No online form; notify Philips or your seller |
| Philips HeartStart FRx (861304) | On the back of the unit | Starts with B, then 2-digit year and a month letter | Record pad expiry and battery install-by dates on the maintenance tag | No online form; notify Philips or your seller |
| Philips HeartStart FR3 | Shown on the display after a self-test, with the software version | Not published | Pads MM-YYYY; battery install-by YYYY-MM on its label | Not verified |
| ZOLL AED Plus | White label on the back of the AED | First 2 digits are the build year, then a month letter | Battery date on the batteries; pad date next to the hourglass symbol | zolldeviceregistration.com |
| ZOLL AED 3 | On the back, just above the left corner of the battery pack | Not published | Battery install date on a white label on the back; pads hourglass YYYY-MM-DD | zolldeviceregistration.com |
| HeartSine samaritan PAD 350P, 360P, 450P | On the rear of the AED (manual) | 2-digit year, model letter and 8 digits (for example 20E91030003F20) | Pad-Pak expiry on the rear of the Pad-Pak, YYYY-MM-DD | heartsine.com/register |
| Defibtech Lifeline VIEW, ECG, PRO | Label on the back of the AED (remove the pads from the pouch); also on the Status screen | 9 digits | Battery and pad dates on their labels and on the Status screen | defibtech.com/register |
| Defibtech Lifeline (DCF-100) | Label on the AED body (location not stated in the manual) | Not published | Battery date on the pack label; pad date on the sealed package | defibtech.com/register |
| Cardiac Science Powerheart G3 | On the underside of the AED (manual) | Not published | Pad expiry visible through the clear window of the lid | Not verified |
| Cardiac Science Powerheart G5 | Label on the unit (location not stated in the manual) | Starts with D (recall ranges use D000…) | Pad expiry visible through the lid window | zolldeviceregistration.com |
| Physio-Control / Stryker LIFEPAK CR2 | In the battery compartment: remove the battery to see it (manual) | Not published | Pads: Use By YYYY-MM-DD on the electrodes; battery label shows manufacture date | Stryker device registration |
| LIFEPAK CR Plus / LIFEPAK 1000 | Serial label on the unit (location not stated in the manual; sellers report the back) | Not published | Use By date visible through the lid (CR Plus) or on the electrode packet (1000) | Stryker device registration |
Sources: the manufacturers’ owner manuals, distributor guides and FDA recall records, checked 25 September 2026. Where a manual does not state the location we say so.
How to check your AED for recalls
- Write down the serial and model number from the label.
- Check the manufacturer’s notices: HeartSine field safety notices, Defibtech serial lookup, Stryker product notices.
- Search the FDA recall database by product name (for example “HeartSine”) and compare your serial with the ranges in each record. It cannot be searched by serial number.
- Register the AED with the manufacturer so future notices reach you.
Recent AED recalls owners look up by serial
| Started | Product | Issue and affected units | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Jun 2025 | HeartSine samaritan PAD 350P, 360P, 450P | A circuit board component may impair the device’s ability to function; serials starting 21 to 24 followed by B, D, E, G or H | FDA record |
| Feb 2025 | Powerheart G5 | Self-test failure after exposure to extreme environments; 73 listed serials | FDA record |
| May 2024 | Powerheart G5 | Front-panel film may prevent pressing the shock button; serials D00000276194 to D00000343449 | FDA record |
| Apr 2024 | HeartSine samaritan PAD 350P, 360P, 450P | Voice prompts may fail; serial prefixes 16 to 24 | FDA record |
| Apr 2023 | HeartSine Pad-Pak | Depleted battery cells; identified by lot number | FDA record |
| Jan 2021 | LIFEPAK CR2 | Lid magnet can dislodge and drain the battery early; remove the battery to read the serial | FDA record |
While you have it in your hands: pads and battery
An expired pad or a flat battery is the most common reason an AED fails its inspection. Most pads last 2 years; ZOLL pads last 5; HeartSine Pad-Paks and LIFEPAK CR2 pads last 4. See every model on our pad replacement schedule, or buy the part now (prices from AED Leader, 25 September 2026):
M5071A OnSite pads, $99M5070A battery, $249ZOLL CPR-D-padz, $230HeartSine Pad-Pak, $236LIFEPAK CR2 pads, $196Powerheart G5 pads, $88
AED serial number FAQ
Where is the serial number on an AED?
Usually on a label on the back of the device. Exceptions: the LIFEPAK CR2 puts it in the battery compartment, the Powerheart G3 on the underside, and the Philips FR3 and Defibtech Lifeline VIEW also show it on screen.
Can I check an AED recall by serial number?
Yes, through the manufacturer’s recall notice or lookup tool. The FDA recall database lists affected serial ranges but cannot be searched by serial number.
Why register my AED?
So the manufacturer can contact you about recalls and safety notices. ZOLL, HeartSine, Defibtech and Stryker run online registration.
Where are the pad and battery expiry dates?
On the pad package and the battery label for most models; HeartSine prints one date on the rear of the Pad-Pak, and the Powerheart G5 and LIFEPAK CR Plus show the pad date through the lid.