Quick answer
Quick answers by model (prices checked 5 October 2026): the Philips HeartStart M5070A battery lasts about 4 years and costs $249. The HeartSine Samaritan Pad-Pak 01 puts the battery and pads in one cartridge that expires 4 years from manufacture, at $236. Philips OnSite pads are a separate part: Philips M5071A pads, $99.
Child pads: see which pediatric AED pads fit each AED model, with 2026 US prices.
AED pads are single-use adhesive electrodes that connect the AED to the patient’s bare chest, read the heart rhythm and deliver the shock. Replacement adult AED pads cost $75 to $282 per set in 2026, and child pads $127 to $279 (AED Leader prices, checked 17 October 2026). Pads are model-specific, so order by part number.
| Brand and AED model | Adult pads (part number) | Price | Child pads |
|---|---|---|---|
| Philips HeartStart OnSite / HS1 | M5071A | $99 | M5072A, $139 |
| Philips HeartStart FRx | SMART Pads II 989803139261 | $89 | Infant/Child Key, $139 |
| Philips HeartStart FR3 | 989803149981 | $79 | not listed at AED Leader |
| ZOLL AED Plus | CPR-D-padz 8900-0800-01 | $230 | Pedi-padz II 8900-0810-01, $155 |
| ZOLL AED 3 | CPR Uni-padz 8900-000280-01 (adult and child) | $234 | same Uni-padz |
| HeartSine Samaritan 350P / 360P / 450P | Pad-Pak 01 (pads + battery) | $236 | Pediatric Pad-Pak 02, $279 |
| Defibtech Lifeline / Lifeline AUTO | DDP-100 | $75.15 | DDP-200P, $130.25 |
| Defibtech Lifeline VIEW / ECG | DDP-2001 | $83.05 | DDP-2002, $136.40 |
| Cardiac Science Powerheart G5 | XELAED001C (CPR-feedback XELAED002C, $282) | $88 | XELAED003C, $127 |
| Cardiac Science Powerheart G3 | 9131-001 | $81 | 9730-002, $160 |
| Physio-Control LIFEPAK CR2 | QUIK-STEP 11101-000021 (adult and child) | $196 | same pads, child mode |
- How long AED pads last: sealed pads last about 2 to 5 years, depending on the brand. ZOLL CPR-D-padz last 5 years.
- Replace after every use: pads are single use, even if no shock was given.
- Child pads: use them for children under 8 or under 55 lb (25 kg); if none are available, use adult pads.
AED Leader: free shipping over $99, 100% money-back guarantee. Response Ready sells the same pads.
An AED battery powers the daily self-test and the shock, and it is model-specific. Replacement AED batteries cost $100 to $624 in 2026 (AED Leader prices, checked 17 October 2026), and most last 4 to 7 years in standby. Order by part number.
| Brand and AED model | Battery (part number) | Price | Battery life |
|---|---|---|---|
| Philips HeartStart OnSite / HS1 / FRx | M5070A | $249 | 4 yr installed |
| Philips HeartStart FR3 | 989803150161 | $326, sold out | not stated |
| ZOLL AED Plus | 8000-0807-01 (10 Type 123 lithium cells) | $100 | 5 yr |
| ZOLL AED 3 | 8000-000696 | $201 | 5 yr |
| HeartSine Samaritan 350P / 360P / 450P | Pad-Pak 01 (battery + pads in one) | $236 | 4 yr |
| Defibtech Lifeline / Lifeline AUTO | DBP-1400 (DCF-200) | $229.10 | 5 yr standby |
| Defibtech Lifeline VIEW / ECG | DCF-2003 | $240.45 | not stated |
| Cardiac Science Powerheart G5 | XBTAED001A | $495 | 4 yr installed |
| Cardiac Science Powerheart G3 | 9146-302 | $624 | not stated |
| Physio-Control LIFEPAK CR2 | 11141-000165 | $341 | not stated |
- Replace by the date: the AED self-test flags a weak battery, but replace it by the date on the label even if the light looks fine.
- Philips OnSite, HS1 and FRx all use the same M5070A battery.
- HeartSine: one Pad-Pak replaces the battery and the pads together.
- Sold out on 17 October: the FR3 battery and the Defibtech DBP-2800 at both stores. The DBP-1400 above fits the same Lifeline AEDs.
AED Leader: free shipping over $99, 100% money-back guarantee. Response Ready sells the same batteries.
46.9%
Replacement schedule by model
Quick answer
| Model | Adult pads | Price | Pad life | Battery | Price | Battery life |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Philips HeartStart OnSite | M5071A | $99 | 2 yr | M5070A | $249 | 4 yr installed |
| Philips HeartStart FRx | 989803139261 SMART Pads II | $89 | 2 yr | M5070A | $249 | 4 yr installed |
| ZOLL AED Plus | 8900-0800-01 CPR-D-padz | $230 | 5 yr | 8000-0807-01 set of 10 | $100 | 5 yr |
| ZOLL AED 3 | 8900-000280-01 Uni-padz | $234 | 5 yr | 8000-000696 | $201 | 5 yr |
| HeartSine samaritan | PAD-PAK-01 combined pad and battery $236 | 4 yr | Included in the Pad-Pak, one part | |||
| Defibtech Lifeline | DDP-100 | $75.15 | 2 yr | DBP-1400 | $229.10 | 5 yr standby |
| Powerheart G5 | XELAED001C | $88 | 2 yr (reseller-stated) | XBTAED001A | $495 | 4 yr installed |
The 10-year cost of keeping each AED in service
Quick answer
| Model | Pad replacements | Battery replacements | 10-year consumable cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| ZOLL AED Plus Cheapest to own | 1 × $230 | 1 × $100 | ~$330 |
| ZOLL AED 3 | 1 × $234 | 1 × $201 | ~$435 |
| HeartSine samaritan | 2 × $236 Pad-Pak (pad and battery combined) | ~$472 | |
| Defibtech Lifeline | 4 × $75.15 | 1 × $229.10 | ~$530 |
| Philips HeartStart FRx | 4 × $89 | 2 × $249 | ~$854 |
| Philips HeartStart OnSite | 4 × $99 | 2 × $249 | ~$894 |
| Powerheart G5 Most expensive | 4 × $88 | 2 × $495 | ~$1,342 |
Pediatric consumables are a second budget line
Quick answer
| Model | Pediatric part | Price | Life | 10-year pediatric cost, first set included |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ZOLL AED 3 Best | Included in Uni-padz | $0 | n/a | $0 extra |
| Philips HeartStart FRx | Infant/Child Key | One-time | Does not expire | One-time cost |
| ZOLL AED Plus | 8900-0810-01 Pedi-padz II | $155 | 2 yr | ~$775 |
| Defibtech Lifeline | DDP-200P | $130.25 | 2 yr | ~$651 |
| HeartSine samaritan | PAD-PAK-02 Pediatric-Pak | $279 | 4 yr | ~$837 |
Do expired AED pads still work?
Quick answer
This question gets dodged everywhere, so here is the straight answer along with what we could and could not verify.
What is documented: AED pads use a water-based conductive gel. Over time that gel dries and the adhesive weakens. The result is poorer skin contact, which can cause inaccurate rhythm analysis, reduced current transfer to the heart, and burn or arcing risk at any point where the pad lifts away from the skin. Pair that mechanism with the FDA adverse-event analysis of 40,787 reported events (DeLuca et al., 2012), where pad and connector problems accounted for 23.7 percent of reported failures, and the risk is real even though no one can put a precise number on any individual expired pad.
What we could not verify, and will not claim: there is no FDA rule stating that expired pads must not be used. The FDA’s AED page addresses Premarket Approval status, not maintenance intervals. We also found no primary American Heart Association document specifying pad or battery replacement intervals. Every “the FDA requires” or “the AHA recommends” claim we checked appeared on a seller’s blog with no source behind it. Manufacturers date their consumables and tell owners to keep supplies within usable dates, which is guidance, not regulation.
The practical conclusion: replace on schedule because the device has exactly one job and you get one attempt at it, not because a regulator forces you to. Order 60 to 90 days before the expiry date so a backorder does not leave the unit unusable.
Order the right part
The wrong part you almost ordered
Quick answer
| Trap | What people order | What they need |
|---|---|---|
| Philips pad generation | SMART Pads III | The FRx uses SMART Pads II 989803139261. SMART Pads III are for the Philips FR3, a different device |
| Philips model mix-up | M5071A for any Philips | M5071A is the OnSite pad. The FRx takes SMART Pads II. They are not the same part |
| ZOLL model mix-up | CPR-D-padz for an AED 3 | The AED Plus takes 8900-0800-01 CPR-D-padz. The AED 3 takes 8900-000280-01 Uni-padz. Not interchangeable |
| Superseded revisions | Older Powerheart pad revisions | Current G5 adult pads are XELAED001C, which supersede earlier A and B revisions. Check the suffix |
When to replace, in practice
| Trigger | What to do |
|---|---|
| After any use | Replace pads immediately, regardless of the printed date. Pads are single-use |
| 60 to 90 days before expiry | Order the replacement. This absorbs backorders and avoids paying for expedited shipping |
| The status indicator changes | Investigate the same day. Most AEDs self-test daily or weekly and flag battery faults first |
| Battery reaches its date | Replace even if the indicator looks fine. Standby life assumes the unit was never used |
| After extreme heat or cold exposure | Inspect pads for gel drying and confirm the self-test passes |
AED pads and batteries FAQ
How often do AED pads need to be replaced?
Do expired AED pads still work?
How much does an AED battery cost to replace?
Which AED is cheapest to keep in service?
Are AED pads interchangeable between models?
Does the FDA require replacing expired AED pads?
The one-line decision
References
- DeLuca LA Jr., et al., Analysis of Automated External Defibrillator Device Failures Reported to the Food and Drug Administration, Annals of Emergency Medicine, 2012 (PMID 21872969). 40,787 events reported to the FDA, 1993 to 2008.
- Sudden Cardiac Arrest Foundation, Report on AED Failures: A Reminder That Maintenance Is Vital.
- US FDA, Automated External Defibrillators (AEDs) and Premarket Approval.
- Defibtech, AED expiration guidance.
- American Heart Association, Cardiac Arrest statistics and Chain of Survival, 2024.
- Prices verified live at AED Leader on 30 September 2026; part numbers and stated shelf life from authorized listings, 30 September 2026.