Verdict: The best recertified AED for anyone who wants Real CPR Help coaching (compression depth and rate feedback) at the price of a Philips OnSite. Skip it if you need a compact unit for a car or a pediatric-key device.
What AED Leader ships in the box: recertified ZOLL AED Plus, carry case, 3-year warranty, CPR-D-padz and battery set pre-installed, first responder kit, AED inspection card (I-Tag), AED On-Site window decal, free shipping. Checked on the AED Leader product page 30 September 2026.
Best for: The lowest ten-year cost with CPR coaching
Real CPR Help at $875. CPR-D-padz last five years and the batteries are consumer lithium, the lowest running cost here.
How we score
Every score is out of 10 and higher is always better. Value compares the price with the other 14 AEDs we track; Features covers coaching, durability, child use and connectivity; 10-year cost is the device plus the pads and batteries bought over ten years, from our 10-year AED cost table. The overall ABR Buyer Score is the average of the three. Prices are re-checked at AED Leader and dated on the page.In the box: Recertified ZOLL AED Plus, carry case, pre-installed CPR-D-padz and batteries, first responder kit, inspection tag, window decal, free ground shipping
Quick answer
9.0
Refurbished ZOLL AED Plus warranty: what you get and from whom
A refurbished (recertified) ZOLL AED Plus from AED Leader or Response Ready carries a 3-year warranty on the device at $875 (19 September 2026), against ZOLL's 5-year warranty on a new unit (7 with registration at $2,082). Pads and battery are new, with their own 5-year life. One-year-warranty units elsewhere run about $725; the 3-year term is the reason to pay $875.
Quick answer
A recertified ZOLL AED Plus costs $875.00 at AED Leader and Response Ready, verified 18 September 2026, against $2,082.00 for a new unit. Warranty on a recertified AED ranges from one to four years depending on the seller (five with AEDs Today’s paid plan), and most of the eight sellers we checked do not publish what their recertification actually inspects. New, the AED Plus carries a 5-year ZOLL warranty, extended by two years when the unit is registered with ZOLL. Full safety section. Running cost is identical to a new unit at about $330 in consumables over ten years. It is a prescription device in the United States, although several sellers include a free physician authorisation with the purchase.
Verified by AED Brand Review on 30 September 2026 against the published product data of AED Leader and Response Ready.Is a recertified ZOLL AED Plus worth it?
Quick answer
Refurbished, recertified, factory refurbished: one AED Plus, three labels
Sellers use three words for the same used ZOLL AED Plus, and only one of them is backed by the manufacturer. What separates a safe purchase from a risky one is not the label but three facts the seller must put in writing: a documented output test on a defibrillator analyzer, a new dated battery set and CPR-D-padz, and a warranty measured in years. This is how the labels were used across the sellers we checked on 18 September 2026.
| Label | Who uses it | What it usually means |
|---|---|---|
| Refurbished | CalMed, Total AEDs, AED Market, AED.US and Rescue 7 (Encore series) | Anything from a cosmetic clean-up to a full biomedical test. The Encore series is a one-year-warranty tier; ask for the test record and the warranty in writing. |
| Recertified | AED Leader, Response Ready, AED.com, AEDs Today | Analyzer-tested, guideline software checked, new battery set and pads, multi-year warranty. AED Leader publishes the 9 points and names the analyzer. |
| Factory refurbished | ZOLL ExpertCare | Refurbished by ZOLL itself through its service program, sold through ZOLL channels rather than the sellers above. The only label with the manufacturer behind it, and the least available. |
Whatever the label, the hardware is the same FDA-approved AED Plus under PMA P160015, and a new unit from ZOLL carries a 5-year warranty that registration extends by two years. A recertified unit trades that for the seller warranty in the table above. Judge the seller and the paperwork, not the word.
What the recertification process actually involves
Quick answer
| Step | What happens | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|
| Analyzer test | Unit tested on a defibrillator analyzer for FDA-compliant joule output | Confirms the shock is correct, which the unit's self-test cannot verify |
| Guideline / software check | Firmware verified against current AHA guidelines | Keeps the Real CPR Help thresholds and shock protocol current |
| New battery set | New non-rechargeable Type 123 lithium batteries (set of 10), maximum-dated | The ZOLL Plus battery is its top real-world failure point |
| New CPR-D-padz | New one-piece CPR-D electrode installed | The pad carries the CPR sensor; it must be new and in-date |
| Clean, inspect, circuitry test | Sanitized, inspected, internal circuitry verified for ongoing self-tests | Ensures the unit keeps checking itself after delivery |
| Documentation | Performance recorded; battery and pad expirations archived; recall notification registered | Puts the unit in the manufacturer recall chain |
Battery and pad cost: the number most buyers miss
Quick answer
Recertified vs new ZOLL AED Plus
Quick answer
| Recertified ZOLL Plus | New ZOLL Plus | |
|---|---|---|
| Typical price (2026) | $725 to $875 | $2,144.70 (value pkg) |
| Device | Same, FDA-approved | Same, FDA-approved |
| Real CPR Help | Yes | Yes |
| Battery and pads | New Type 123 set + new CPR-D-padz | New Type 123 set + new CPR-D-padz |
| Warranty | 1 to 4 years (seller-dependent) | 5 years manufacturer (7 if registered) |
| Best for | Budget-focused, CPR feedback needed | Longest warranty, 8-plus year hold |
What a recertified ZOLL AED Plus should cost in 2026
Quick answer
| Seller | Price | Warranty | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| AED Market | $725 | 1-year (3-yr upgrade option) | Refurbished labeling, in stock |
| AEDs Today | $725 | Optional 5-year with paid management plan | Back order on 18 September 2026 |
| AED.com | $799.99 | 3-year, Cardio Partners | Bare unit; business package $1,119.99 |
| CalMed Equipment | $845 | 4-year | BioMed certified, new CPR-D-padz, in stock |
| AED Leader 3-year warranty | $875 | 3-year | Published 9-point process, Fluke Impulse 7000 analyzer test, new battery set and CPR-D-padz, 100% money-back, 1-year price match, free shipping. Same price at Response Ready |
| Total AEDs | $925 | 2-year | New CPR-D-padz and Duracell 123A set, prescription included |
| Rescue 7 / AED.US (Encore series) | $725 | 1-year | AED.US single option, 1 Oct 2026; Rescue 7 could not be read |
Buy the recertified ZOLL AED Plus
Is a recertified ZOLL AED Plus safe and FDA-legal?
Quick answer
Who should buy recertified, and who should buy new
| Buy recertified ZOLL Plus if… | Buy new ZOLL Plus if… |
|---|---|
| You want Real CPR Help on a budget | You want the full 5-year manufacturer warranty |
| The setting is a workplace or lay-responder team | You plan to hold the unit 8-plus years |
| The seller documents the test and includes a new battery set and pads | A grant or budget already covers the new package price |
How the ZOLL AED Plus compares
| Model | Verified price | Ten year running cost | Pediatric method | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ZOLL AED Plus (this page) | $2,082 | About $330 | Pedi-padz II, $155 every 2 years | Lowest running cost, workplaces |
| Philips HeartStart OnSite | $1,589 to $1,819 | About $894 | Separate M5072A cartridge, prescription only | Untrained staff, offices, home |
| ZOLL AED 3 | $2,399 | About $435 | Uni-padz cover children, no extra pad | Mixed ages, Wi-Fi fleet management |
| HeartSine Samaritan 350P | $1,411 | About $472 | Separate Pediatric Pad-Pak, about $279 | Outdoor, portable, over the counter |
New unit prices verified at AED Leader and Response Ready on 30 September 2026. Ten year running cost is our own calculation from published consumable part prices and service lives. We checked the top five ranking pages for every one of these models and not one publishes a table like this.
What each seller promises on a recertified unit
| Seller | Warranty | Returns | Stated process |
|---|---|---|---|
| AED Leader | 3 years | 100 per cent money back guarantee, 1-year price match | Published 9-point process, Fluke Impulse 7000 analyzer test, battery set and CPR-D-padz pre-installed |
| CalMed Equipment | 4 years | Free returns | BioMed certified, new CPR-D-padz |
| AED.com | 3 years, Cardio Partners | Not stated on page | In-house recertification, not itemized on the AED Plus page |
| Total AEDs | 2 years, parts and labour | Not stated on page | Certified biomedical technicians, new pads and Duracell 123A set |
| AED Market | 1 year, 3-year upgrade sold separately | 30 day money back | Biomedical technician, new pads, new battery, carrying case |
| AED.US and Rescue 7 (Encore series) | 1 year | Replacement if the unit fails in year one | Multi-point inspection, factory battery and CPR-D-padz |
| AEDs Today | Only with a paid annual management plan (5 years) | Not stated on page | Not described, unit on back order |
Compiled from each seller published page on 18 September 2026. No seller publishes this comparison. A recertification process claim is a marketing statement unless the seller states what the points actually are and names the test equipment; AED Leader is the only seller in this table that names its analyzer.
Before you buy: shipping, prescription and the small print
- Prescription. Only two AED families are approved for over the counter sale in the United States: the HeartSine Samaritan 350P and the Philips HeartStart OnSite in its adult configuration. Every other model here, including the FRx, ZOLL, Powerheart G5, LIFEPAK CR2 and Defibtech, is a prescription device.
- Free physician authorisation. Several sellers include a free prescription from a board certified physician with the purchase, so the prescription requirement is rarely a real obstacle.
- Free shipping threshold. AED.com and American AED both publish free ground shipping on orders above $199 in the contiguous United States.
- Approval route. AEDs are FDA approved through premarket approval, a PMA number. PMA is the only FDA route for an AED, so any seller naming another pathway has it wrong.
Quick answers
Short, sourced answers to the questions buyers ask most about this model. Prices are the ones we verified at AED Leader on the date shown.
How much is a recertified ZOLL AED Plus?
$875 at AED Leader and Response Ready, price checked 30 September 2026, with a 3-year warranty, CPR-D-padz and a fresh set of ten lithium batteries. New, the semi-automatic AED Plus is $2,082, so recertified saves about 58 percent on the same device.
Does a recertified ZOLL AED Plus still have Real CPR Help?
Yes. Real CPR Help lives in the device and its CPR-D-padz, so recertification does not remove it. The unit still measures compression depth and rate and coaches the rescuer by voice and on-screen bar. FDA-approved under PMA P160015.
Is a used or refurbished ZOLL AED Plus worth it?
It is worth it when the seller documents an analyzer test and includes new pads and batteries with a multi-year warranty. At $875 against $2,082 new, the saving is the largest in the ZOLL range. Avoid as-is listings with no test record.
What warranty comes with a recertified ZOLL AED Plus?
Three years on the unit at AED Leader, against a 5-year ZOLL warranty on a new one, 7 years when registered with ZOLL. Pads and batteries carry their own expiry dates and are replaced on schedule regardless of whether the AED was bought new or recertified.
Alternatives at the same price, verified today
Prices checked 30 September 2026 at AED Leader. Each link opens our full review with the buy path.
- Recertified ZOLL AED 3 review and priceFrom $1,150Save 52%Recertified, 3-year warrantyBuy at AED Leader
- Recertified Philips HeartStart OnSite review and price$875Save 45%Recertified, 3-year warrantyBuy at AED Leader
- Recertified Philips HeartStart FRx review and price$875Save 58%Recertified, 3-year warrantyBuy at AED Leader
- ZOLL AED Plus review and price$2,082New, 5-year warranty (7 if registered)
More questions buyers ask about the recertified ZOLL AED Plus
Answered 24 September 2026. Prices verified from the AED Leader product feed the same day.
How do you test a recertified ZOLL AED Plus when it arrives?
You check it, you do not run it. ZOLL builds the AED Plus to self-test automatically, and AED Leader's listing states the unit runs daily, weekly and monthly self-tests. Install it, then look at the status indicator window: a check mark means the last self-test passed. Write the battery install date on the unit the same day, because that date drives the five-year replacement. Our AED inspection checklist covers the monthly record.
What does a ZOLL AED Plus cost in 2026?
New, $2,082.00 at AED Leader. Recertified, $875.00 with a three-year warranty, new pads and a new battery pre-installed. The gap is $1,207.00. The value package is $2,144.70 if you want the cabinet and signage bundled with a new unit.
How long does the ZOLL AED Plus battery last?
Five years, per ZOLL. The AED Plus runs on ten Type 123A lithium cells, and AED Leader sells the set of 10 for $100.00. The CPR-D-padz electrode is also rated at five years and costs $230.00, so the full five-year refresh is $330.00. That is the lowest ten-year consumable bill of the AEDs we price, against $472.00 for the HeartSine 350P, $529.70 for the Defibtech Lifeline and $894.00 for the Philips OnSite.
Recertified ZOLL AED Plus or recertified ZOLL AED 3?
The AED Plus is $875.00; the recertified AED 3 starts at $1,150.00, $275.00 more. Both carry Real CPR Help and a three-year warranty at AED Leader. The AED 3 adds a colour touchscreen, optional WiFi status reporting and one CPR Uni-padz electrode for adults and children, where the AED Plus needs separate Pedi-padz II. Read our recertified ZOLL AED 3 page before choosing.
Recertified ZOLL AED Plus FAQ
Is a recertified ZOLL AED Plus worth it?
How much does a recertified ZOLL AED Plus cost in 2026?
Does it come with a new battery and pads?
What batteries and pads does it use?
What warranty comes with a recertified ZOLL Plus?
What is the lifespan of a ZOLL AED Plus?
Is the ZOLL AED Plus still available for sale?
Do AED batteries need to be replaced every two years?
Does a recertified ZOLL AED Plus come with a warranty?
The one-line decision
References
- American Heart Association, Cardiac Arrest statistics and Chain of Survival, 2024.
- US FDA, Automated External Defibrillators (AEDs) and Premarket Approval.
- OSHA, Cardiac Arrest and AEDs in the workplace.
- Recertified and refurbished ZOLL AED Plus pricing and warranty verified live from aedleader.com, responseready.com, aed.com, aedmarket.com, aedstoday.com, calmedequipment.com, totalaeds.com, rescue7.net and aed.us on 18 September 2026; third-party prices re-read on 1 October 2026 where the seller page could be read. ZOLL AED Plus product page (5-year battery and electrode life) and ZOLL device registration page (two additional warranty years), checked 18 September 2026.