Looking for a recertified ZOLL AED Plus instead? It is $875 at AED Leader, verified 30 September 2026: recertified ZOLL AED Plus price and warranty.
Verdict: The cheapest way to own a current-generation ZOLL with Real CPR Help. Same device, shorter warranty. A strong pick for gyms, churches and offices.
Best for: The full AED 3 feature set at about half price
The full AED 3 feature set at $1,150. Same five-year Uni-padz and battery cycle.
How we score
Every score is out of 10 and higher is always better. Value compares the price with the other 14 AEDs we track; Features covers coaching, durability, child use and connectivity; 10-year cost is the device plus the pads and batteries bought over ten years, from our 10-year AED cost table. The overall ABR Buyer Score is the average of the three. Prices are re-checked at AED Leader and dated on the page.In the box: Recertified ZOLL AED 3, CPR Uni-padz, battery pack, carry case, inspection tag, window decal, free ground shipping (AED Leader listing; $1,150 to $1,295 by configuration)
Quick answer
9.0
Recertified ZOLL AED 3 price: $999 to $1,295, and the $1,150 pick
A recertified ZOLL AED 3 runs $999 to $1,295 across eight sellers (19 September 2026). AED Leader and Response Ready sell it at $1,150 with a 3-year warranty, a 9-point inspection on a Fluke Impulse 7000 and new Uni-padz and battery; new is $2,399. The seller table below shows every price and warranty.
Refurbished ZOLL AED 3 warranty: 3 years at $1,150
A refurbished (recertified) ZOLL AED 3 from AED Leader or Response Ready carries a 3-year warranty at $1,150 (19 September 2026), with new Uni-padz and battery on their own 5-year life. ZOLL's warranty on a new AED 3 is 6 years, 8 with registration, at $2,399. Other sellers offer 1 to 2 years at $999 to $1,250; the table below lists each term.
Quick answer
A recertified ZOLL AED 3 costs $1,150.00 to $1,295.00 at AED Leader and Response Ready, verified 30 September 2026, against $2,399.00 for a new unit. Warranty on a recertified AED ranges from one to three years depending on the seller, and only three of the five sellers we checked publish a point count for their recertification process. Running cost is identical to a new unit at about $435 in consumables over ten years. It is a prescription device in the United States, although several sellers include a free physician authorisation with the purchase.
Verified by AED Brand Review on 30 September 2026 against the published product data of AED Leader and Response Ready.Is a recertified ZOLL AED 3 worth it?
Quick answer
What the recertification process actually involves
Quick answer
| Step | What happens | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|
| Analyzer test | Unit tested on a Fluke Impulse 7000 defibrillator analyzer for FDA-compliant joule output | Confirms the shock is correct, which the unit's self-test cannot verify |
| Guideline / software check | Firmware verified against current AHA guidelines | Keeps the CPR feedback thresholds and shock protocol current |
| New battery | New non-rechargeable lithium battery pack, 5-year standby life | The battery is the top real-world failure point |
| New Uni-padz | New CPR Uni-padz installed, 5-year shelf life | The pad carries the CPR sensor and must be new and in-date |
| Touchscreen and WiFi check | Color touchscreen and WiFi reporting verified | The AED 3's screen and connectivity are why buyers choose it |
| Documentation | Performance recorded; battery and pad expirations archived; recall notification registered | Puts the unit in the manufacturer recall chain |
Uni-padz: one pad for adults and children
Quick answer
Recertified vs new ZOLL AED 3
Quick answer
| Recertified ZOLL AED 3 | New ZOLL AED 3 | |
|---|---|---|
| Typical price (2026) | $999 to $1,295 | $2,399 at AED Leader |
| Device | Same, FDA-approved | Same, FDA-approved |
| Touchscreen + WiFi | Yes | Yes |
| Battery and pads | New battery + new Uni-padz | New battery + new Uni-padz |
| Warranty | 1 to 3 years (seller-dependent) | 6 years manufacturer, 8 with ZOLL registration |
| Best for | Budget-focused, newest features | Longest warranty, 8-plus year hold |
What a recertified ZOLL AED 3 should cost in 2026
Quick answer
| Seller | Price | Warranty | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Equipment Express | $999 | Not stated on page | Sale price, listed against $2,240 |
| Purchase AEDs | $1,090 | Not stated on page | Portable bundle, listed against $1,338 |
| AED Market | $1,095 | 1-year | New pads, battery and case |
| AED.us and AED Brands (Encore) | $1,095 | 1-year unit | New Uni-padz and battery, 5-year consumable warranty |
| AED Leader Documented process | $1,150 to $1,295 | 3-year | 9-point analyzer test, new genuine battery and Uni-padz, free shipping |
Buy the recertified ZOLL AED 3
Battery and pad cost over time
Quick answer
Is a recertified ZOLL AED 3 safe and FDA-legal?
Quick answer
Who should buy recertified, and who should buy new
| Buy recertified ZOLL AED 3 if… | Buy new ZOLL AED 3 if… |
|---|---|
| You want the newest ZOLL features on a budget | You want the full 6-year manufacturer warranty (8 with ZOLL registration) |
| You value touchscreen feedback and WiFi program management | You plan to hold the unit 8-plus years |
| The seller documents the test and includes a new battery and Uni-padz | A grant or budget already covers the new price |
How the ZOLL AED 3 compares
| Model | Verified price | Ten year running cost | Pediatric method | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ZOLL AED 3 (this page) | $2,399 | About $435 | Uni-padz cover children, no extra pad | Mixed ages, Wi-Fi fleet management |
| ZOLL AED Plus | $2,082 | About $330 | Pedi-padz II, $155 every 2 years | Lowest running cost, workplaces |
| Philips HeartStart OnSite | $1,589 to $1,819 | About $894 | Separate M5072A cartridge, prescription only | Untrained staff, offices, home |
| Philips HeartStart FRx | $2,099 to $2,199 | About $854 | Reusable child key, about $139 once | Schools, mixed adult and child settings |
New unit prices verified at AED Leader and Response Ready on 30 September 2026. Ten year running cost is our own calculation from published consumable part prices and service lives. We checked the top five ranking pages for every one of these models and not one publishes a table like this.
What each seller promises on a recertified unit
| Seller | Warranty | Returns | Stated process |
|---|---|---|---|
| AED Leader | 3 years | 100 per cent money back guarantee | 9-point process published, Fluke Impulse 7000 analyzer test |
| AED.com | 3 years, Cardio Partners | Not stated on page | 10 point in-house recertification process |
| American AED | 3 years | 30 day money back | Recertified plus new pads, battery, case |
| AED Market | 1 year | 30 day money back | New pads, new battery, carrying case |
| Enerspect | 1 year | Not stated on page | 5 point comprehensive recertification process |
Compiled from each seller published page on 19 September 2026. No seller publishes this comparison. A recertification process claim is a marketing statement unless the seller states what the points actually are, and only three of the five do.
Before you buy: shipping, prescription and the small print
- Prescription. Only two AED families are approved for over the counter sale in the United States: the HeartSine Samaritan 350P and the Philips HeartStart OnSite in its adult configuration. Every other model here, including the FRx, ZOLL, Powerheart G5, LIFEPAK CR2 and Defibtech, is a prescription device.
- Free physician authorisation. Several sellers include a free prescription from a board certified physician with the purchase, so the prescription requirement is rarely a real obstacle.
- Free shipping threshold. AED.com and American AED both publish free ground shipping on orders above $199 in the contiguous United States.
- Approval route. AEDs are FDA approved through premarket approval, a PMA number. PMA is the only FDA route for an AED, so any seller naming another pathway has it wrong.
Quick answers
Short, sourced answers to the questions buyers ask most about this model. Prices are the ones we verified at AED Leader on the date shown.
How much is a recertified ZOLL AED 3?
$1,150 to $1,295 at AED Leader depending on configuration ($1,150 at Response Ready), price checked 30 September 2026, with a 3-year warranty. New, the AED 3 is $2,399, so the recertified unit saves about 52 percent.
Is a recertified ZOLL AED 3 the same device as new?
Yes. It is the same FDA-approved unit under PMA P160015/S001, analyzer-tested for correct output, guideline-updated and fitted with new CPR Uni-padz and battery. The warranty is shorter: three years, against six on a new unit (eight once registered with ZOLL).
How long do ZOLL AED 3 batteries last?
Five years installed, on ZOLL's published figure, with a two-year shelf life before installation. A fresh battery delivers 140 shocks at 200 J or 6 hours of monitoring. A recertified unit from AED Leader or Response Ready comes with a new battery, so the five years start on delivery. Replacement is $201 at AED Leader.
What is the warranty period for a new ZOLL AED 3?
Six years from purchase, extended to eight when the unit is registered with ZOLL. A recertified AED 3 carries the seller's warranty instead: three years at AED Leader, Response Ready and American AED, one year at the Encore-series sellers.
Where can I buy a recertified ZOLL AED 3?
AED Leader and Response Ready sell the recertified ZOLL AED 3 at $1,150 with a three-year warranty, new Uni-padz and battery, in stock on 30 September 2026. Both are authorised sellers; AED Leader includes free shipping and publishes its 9-point recertification process and the Fluke Impulse 7000 analyzer test it uses.
What is the cheapest current-generation ZOLL?
The recertified ZOLL AED 3 at $1,150. It is the only route to a touchscreen ZOLL with Uni-padz for less than the $2,082 price of a new AED Plus.
Recertified AED 3 or recertified AED Plus?
The recertified AED Plus is $875 and keeps Real CPR Help. The recertified AED 3 at $1,150 adds the touchscreen, Wi-Fi and one pad set for all ages. Pay the extra $275 only if you need those three.
Alternatives, verified today
Prices checked 30 September 2026 at AED Leader. Each link opens our full review with the buy path.
- Recertified ZOLL AED Plus review and price$875Save 58%Recertified, 3-year warrantyBuy at AED Leader
- ZOLL AED 3 review and price$2,399New, 6-year warranty, 8 with registration
- Recertified Powerheart G5 review and price$1,225Save 43%Recertified, warranty as stated on the AED Leader listing (confirm at checkout)Buy at AED Leader
- Recertified Philips HeartStart FRx review and price$875Save 58%Recertified, 3-year warrantyBuy at AED Leader
Related AED Brand Review research
Shopping the older ZOLL instead?
Sources
Recertified ZOLL AED 3 FAQ
Is a recertified ZOLL AED 3 worth it?
How much does a recertified ZOLL AED 3 cost in 2026?
Does it use pediatric pads?
What battery and pads does it use?
What warranty comes with a recertified ZOLL AED 3?
The one-line decision
References
- American Heart Association, Cardiac Arrest statistics and Chain of Survival, 2024.
- US FDA, Automated External Defibrillators (AEDs) and Premarket Approval.
- OSHA, Cardiac Arrest and AEDs in the workplace.
- ZOLL AED 3 device specifications (Uni-padz, 5-year battery, touchscreen, WiFi) and recertified pricing verified live from aedleader.com, responseready.com, americanaed.com, aedmarket.com, aed.us, aedbrands.com, equipment.express, purchaseaeds.com and urbanrescuesolutions.com on 19 September 2026.