⚡ Sudden cardiac arrest kills 350,000 Americans every year, 70% survive when defibrillation happens within 3 min. Get CPR Trained →
›
›
Recertified Cardiac Science Powerheart G5: price, features, and whether it’s worth it in 2026

Recertified Cardiac Science Powerheart G5: price, features, and whether it's worth it in 2026

Recertified Cardiac Science Powerheart G5, a buyer's guide from AED Brand Review
$1,225 Save 43% vs $2,157 new
Price checked 25 Sep 2026 at AED Leader, in stock, warranty as stated on the AED Leader listing (confirm at checkout). FDA-approved under PMA P160034. Model Powerheart G5.

Verdict: A low-cost route to a fully automatic AED with a daily Rescue Ready self-check; the recertified HeartSine 360P ($875) is a cheaper fully automatic option. AED.com lists the same unit near $999, so buy here for the documented 9-point analyzer test and genuine Intellisense pads, not for the lowest sticker.

ABR Buyer ScoreChecked 30 September 2026
7.3 / 10Good
Value8
Features8.5
10-year cost5.5
Price today$1,225 recertified ($2,157 new)
10-year cost$2,567

Best for: A fully automatic option at a recertified price

Fully automatic option and a daily Rescue Ready check at $1,225. Intellisense pads have the shortest shelf life in this group.

How we scoreEvery score is out of 10 and higher is always better. Value compares the price with the other 14 AEDs we track; Features covers coaching, durability, child use and connectivity; 10-year cost is the device plus the pads and batteries bought over ten years, from our 10-year AED cost table. The overall ABR Buyer Score is the average of the three. Prices are re-checked at AED Leader and dated on the page.

In the box: Recertified Powerheart G5 (semi or fully automatic), carry case, pre-installed Intellisense pads and battery, user manual, first responder kit, inspection tag, window decal, free shipping (AED Leader listing)

Quick answer

A recertified Cardiac Science Powerheart G5 is the same FDA-approved device as new, tested on a defibrillator analyzer, fitted with new Intellisense pads, and warrantied. In 2026 it runs about $999 to $1,292, versus $2,157 new at AED Leader. It is the way to get a fully automatic AED option, a fast shock time, and a daily self-check indicator at a large discount, as long as the seller documents the test and gives a multi-year warranty.
The Powerheart G5 is Cardiac Science’s flagship, and it is built around reliability signals: a Rescue Ready indicator that runs a daily self-check and shows green when the unit is good to go, a shock delivered in 10 seconds or less after a CPR cycle, and non-polarized Intellisense pads that work in either position so a stressed rescuer cannot place them wrong. It is also one of the few AEDs offered in a true fully automatic version. Recertified is how budget-conscious buyers get those features. The device is unchanged; only the price moves. As with any recertified AED, the seller matters more than the label, and the G5 market runs from about $999 to $1,292 for the same unit.

8.9

Editorial score
Best for: buyers who want a fully automatic option, the fastest possible shock, and a clear daily readiness indicator, at a large discount off new. Skip if: you want the lowest running cost (Intellisense pads have a shorter shelf life) or the simplest, cheapest home unit (a recertified Philips OnSite).

Quick answer

A recertified Cardiac Science Powerheart G5 costs $1,225.00 at AED Leader and Response Ready, verified 30 September 2026, against $2,157.00 for a new unit. Warranty on a recertified AED ranges from one to three years depending on the seller, and only three of the five sellers we checked publish a point count for their recertification process. Running cost is identical to a new unit at about $1,342 in consumables over ten years. It is a prescription device in the United States, although several sellers include a free physician authorisation with the purchase.

Verified by AED Brand Review on 30 September 2026 against the published product data of AED Leader and Response Ready.

Is a recertified Powerheart G5 worth it?

Quick answer

Yes if you want the G5’s fully automatic option and daily self-check on a budget. You get an identical FDA-approved device with new pads for a large discount off new. The trade-offs are a shorter warranty and a shorter pad shelf life, so weigh both.
Sudden cardiac arrest kills more than 356,000 people outside hospitals each year in the US, and survival drops about 10 percent per minute without defibrillation (American Heart Association). The G5 is designed to remove hesitation: the fully automatic model shocks on its own after a countdown, and the fast shock time shortens the pause in chest compressions that lowers survival. A recertified G5 delivers those same behaviors. Safety does not depend on the unit being new: it depends on correct shock output verified on an analyzer, non-expired Intellisense pads, and current software. A properly recertified G5 has all three plus a warranty.

What the recertification process actually involves

Quick answer

A proper recertification is a documented multi-point process: analyzer testing for correct joule output, a guideline software check, new genuine Intellisense pads and battery, cleaning and inspection, internal circuitry testing, and recorded expiration tracking. Ask the seller for the point count and whether an analyzer is named.
The top-ranking G5 listings say nothing about what recertification involves; the price leader offloads even its FAQ to a separate blog post. Using AED Leader’s published 9-point Re-New process as a documented reference standard, a complete recertification of a Powerheart G5 includes:
StepWhat happensWhy it matters
Analyzer testUnit tested on a Fluke Impulse 7000 defibrillator analyzer for FDA-compliant joule outputConfirms the shock is correct, which the unit's self-test cannot verify
Guideline / software checkFirmware verified against current AHA guidelinesKeeps RescueCoach prompts and shock protocol current
New consumablesNew genuine Intellisense pads and battery, maximum-datedPads and battery are the top real-world failure point
Rescue Ready checkDaily self-check indicator verifiedThe green Rescue Ready status is the G5's core reliability signal
Clean, inspect, circuitry testSanitized, IP55 seal checked, internal circuitry verified for self-testsPreserves ruggedness and ongoing self-testing
DocumentationPerformance recorded; pad and battery expirations archived; recall notification registeredPuts the unit in the manufacturer recall chain
The buying rule holds: a documented process with a named analyzer test beats a listing that says nothing at all about how the unit was restored.

Fully automatic option, fast shock, and Rescue Ready

Quick answer

The G5 comes in semi-automatic and fully automatic versions, delivers a shock in 10 seconds or less after a CPR cycle, and runs a daily Rescue Ready self-check. Non-polarized Intellisense pads go on in either position, which reduces rescuer error. All of this carries over on a recertified unit.
Three features define the G5, and none of them change when recertified. The fully automatic model removes the shock button entirely, delivering the shock on its own after a spoken countdown, which suits settings where a lay rescuer may freeze at the decision. The fast shock time, 10 seconds or less after a CPR cycle, shortens the compression pause that lowers survival. And the Rescue Ready indicator runs a daily self-test and shows a green light, so a facility manager can confirm readiness at a glance. The non-polarized Intellisense pads add one more safeguard: either pad works in either position, so there is no wrong way to place them. Confirm your recertified unit is the model, semi or fully automatic, that your program requires; both exist on the recertified market.

Recertified vs new Powerheart G5

Quick answer

The device is identical. New buys a longer manufacturer warranty at full price. Recertified buys the same G5, fully automatic option and all, with new pads for a large discount, with a shorter warranty.
 Recertified G5New G5
Typical price (2026)$999 to $1,292$2,157
DeviceSame, FDA-approved, IP55Same, FDA-approved, IP55
Fully automatic optionYes (confirm model)Yes
Pads and batteryNew Intellisense pads + batteryNew Intellisense pads + battery
WarrantyTypically 3 years on the unit8 years manufacturer
Best forBudget-focused, fully-auto and fast shockLongest warranty, 8-plus year hold

What a recertified Powerheart G5 should cost in 2026

Quick answer

The competitive band is about $999 to $1,292. The lowest price with a 3-year warranty is $999.99. Compare on the documented process and whether both pads and battery are new and dated, not on sticker alone.
Recertified Powerheart G5 prices verified live on 12 August 2026:
SellerPriceWarrantyNote
AED.com$999.993-yearPrice leader; process not itemized, FAQ offloaded to a blog, out of stock 1 Oct 2026
AED Leader Documented process$1,2253-year9-point analyzer test, new genuine Intellisense pads, free shipping, US support
CardiacDirect$1,292.10Not statedNo process detail, warranty unclear
Being straight with you: on the G5, AED Leader is not the cheapest. AED.com lists it at $999.99 with the same 3-year warranty (out of stock on 1 October 2026). What the extra roughly $225 buys is a documented 9-point analyzer test, new genuine Intellisense pads, free shipping, and US-based support, versus a listing that does not describe its process and sends its FAQ to a blog. If price is the only factor, the $999.99 option is real. If you want the restoration process documented and the consumables confirmed genuine, the AED Leader unit is the safer buy. Model the full 10-year cost, pads included, with our AED Cost Calculator.

Buy the recertified Powerheart G5

Fully automatic option, fast shock, daily Rescue Ready self-check. $1,225 with a 3-year warranty, new genuine Intellisense pads, documented 9-point analyzer test, free shipping. Same FDA-approved device as new.

Pads and battery cost over time

Quick answer

The G5 uses Intellisense pads with about a 2-year shelf life, shorter than most AED pads, plus a battery on a multi-year cycle. A recertified unit ships with both new, but budget for pad replacement more often than a HeartSine or ZOLL, and factor that into the total cost.
This is the honest trade-off on the G5. Its Intellisense pads carry roughly a two-year shelf life, which is shorter than the four- and five-year pads on some other brands, so pad replacement comes around more often over a 10-year program. A recertified unit resets the clock with new pads and battery at delivery; confirm the printed dates on arrival. The G5’s features are strong, but if lowest lifetime running cost is your priority, compare it against a recertified Philips OnSite or HeartSine in our AED Cost Calculator before deciding.

Is a recertified Powerheart G5 safe and FDA-legal?

Quick answer

Yes. Reselling a recertified AED is legal, and the device keeps its FDA Premarket Approval. Safety comes from a documented analyzer test, new in-date Intellisense pads, and current software.
The Powerheart G5 is a Class III device the FDA regulates through Premarket Approval (PMA). Recertification restores a previously deployed unit to a documented ready state; it does not change the approval. Workplaces and facilities on fixed budgets deploy recertified G5 units without a compliance downgrade, and the Rescue Ready self-check works the same. Placement and program management still matter as much as the device: the OSHA response-time guidance applies equally to new and recertified units, and our AED laws by state guide covers what your location requires.

Who should buy recertified, and who should buy new

Buy recertified G5 if…Buy new G5 if…
You want a fully automatic option and fast shock on a budgetYou want the full 8-year manufacturer warranty
You value a daily Rescue Ready readiness indicatorYou plan to hold the unit 8-plus years
The seller documents the test and includes new genuine padsA grant or budget already covers the new price
Still weighing models? Run the Find Your Perfect AED quiz, compare specs on the AED comparison tool, or read the recertified AED guide. Want the cheapest simple home unit? See the Philips OnSite. Want CPR feedback? Compare the ZOLL AED Plus.

How the Cardiac Science Powerheart G5 compares

ModelVerified priceTen year running costPediatric methodBest for
Cardiac Science Powerheart G5 (this page)$2,157About $1,342Separate pediatric pads (XELAED003C, $127)Fully automatic, trained responders
ZOLL AED Plus$2,082About $330Pedi-padz II, $155 every 2 yearsLowest running cost, workplaces
ZOLL AED 3$2,399About $435Uni-padz cover children, no extra padMixed ages, Wi-Fi fleet management
Philips HeartStart OnSite$1,589 to $1,819About $894Separate M5072A cartridge, prescription onlyUntrained staff, offices, home

New unit prices verified at AED Leader and Response Ready on 30 September 2026. Ten year running cost is our own calculation from published consumable part prices and service lives. We checked the top five ranking pages for every one of these models and not one publishes a table like this.

What each seller promises on a recertified unit

SellerWarrantyReturnsStated process
AED Leader3 years100 per cent money back guarantee9-point recertification process published
AED.com3 years, Cardio PartnersNot stated on page10 point in-house recertification process
American AED3 years30 day money backRecertified plus new pads, battery, case
AED Market1 year30 day money backNew pads, new battery, carrying case
Enerspect1 yearNot stated on page5 point comprehensive recertification process

Compiled from each seller published page on 11 September 2026. No seller publishes this comparison. A recertification process claim is a marketing statement unless the seller states what the points are; three of the five publish a point count.

Before you buy: shipping, prescription and the small print

  • Prescription. Only two AED families are approved for over the counter sale in the United States: the HeartSine Samaritan 350P and the Philips HeartStart OnSite in its adult configuration. Every other model here, including the FRx, ZOLL, Powerheart G5, LIFEPAK CR2 and Defibtech, is a prescription device.
  • Free physician authorisation. Several sellers include a free prescription from a board certified physician with the purchase, so the prescription requirement is rarely a real obstacle.
  • Free shipping threshold. AED.com and American AED both publish free ground shipping on orders above $199 in the contiguous United States.
  • Approval route. AEDs are FDA approved through premarket approval, a PMA number. PMA is the only FDA route for an AED, so any seller naming another pathway has it wrong.

Quick answers

Short, sourced answers to the questions buyers ask most about this model. Prices are the ones we verified at AED Leader on the date shown.

How much is a recertified Powerheart G5?

$1,225 at AED Leader and Response Ready, price checked 25 September 2026. AED.com lists the same recertified unit near $999.99 (out of stock on 1 October 2026), so compare the documented analyzer test and genuine pads, not the sticker alone.

Is a recertified G5 worth it against a new one?

New is $2,157 with an 8-year warranty. Recertified at $1,225 saves about 43 percent on the identical device under PMA P160033. Confirm the warranty term in writing before you buy, because recertified listings differ.

What is Rescue Ready?

Rescue Ready is the G5 daily self-check indicator. It runs automatic tests on the battery, pads and internal circuitry and shows a green light when the unit is ready, so readiness is visible without opening the case.

Does the recertified G5 come fully automatic?

Both semi-automatic and fully automatic G5 units appear on the recertified market. Confirm which configuration you are buying, because the fully automatic version delivers the shock with no button press from the rescuer.

Recertified Powerheart G5 FAQ

Is a recertified Cardiac Science Powerheart G5 worth it?

Yes if you want a fully automatic AED option, a fast shock, and daily self-check on a budget. It is the same FDA-approved device as new, with new Intellisense pads, for a large discount. Buy from a seller that documents the analyzer test and gives a multi-year warranty.

How much does a recertified Powerheart G5 cost in 2026?

About $999 to $1,292 depending on the seller, versus $2,157 new at AED Leader.

Does it come in a fully automatic version?

Yes. The G5 is available in both semi-automatic and fully automatic models. The fully automatic version shocks on its own after a countdown, with no button press.

How fast does the G5 deliver a shock?

In 10 seconds or less after a CPR cycle, one of the faster shock times among AEDs, which shortens the pause in compressions.

What warranty comes with a recertified G5?

Typically 3 years on the recertified unit from sellers that state a term. Some listings do not state one, so confirm before buying.

The one-line decision

If you want the G5’s fully automatic option and fast shock on a budget and the seller documents the test plus a multi-year warranty with new genuine pads, buy the recertified Powerheart G5. If lowest lifetime cost matters most, weigh its shorter pad life against a recertified Philips OnSite or HeartSine first. Check your local requirement in the AED laws by state guide.

References

  1. American Heart Association, Cardiac Arrest statistics and Chain of Survival, 2024.
  2. US FDA, Automated External Defibrillators (AEDs) and Premarket Approval.
  3. OSHA, Cardiac Arrest and AEDs in the workplace.
  4. Cardiac Science Powerheart G5 specifications (fully automatic option, 10-second shock, Intellisense pads, STAR biphasic, IP55) and recertified pricing verified live from aed.com, aedleader.com, and cardiacdirect.com on 12 August 2026.
Updated September 2026 · Reviewed by the AED Brand Review Editorial Team · Prices verified live and may change. Confirm current pricing on the linked product pages before purchase.
Picture of ayaan
ayaan
In the last 27 years, I have worked as a first responder. For 20 of those years, I focused on instruction and training. I’ve collaborated with teams in nonprofits, businesses, government, healthcare, and aquatic fields. I help them improve their readiness for many emergency situations. I have helped organizations adopt effective emergency response strategies. I’ve combined hands-on experience with practical education. This lets me use lifesaving tools, such as automated defibrillators, in daily operations.
Related Articles
Defibtech Lifeline VIEW AED Package, a buyer's guide from AED Brand Review

Defibtech Lifeline VIEW AED Package: $2,077.75 and Who the Video Is For (2026)

$2,077.75Package price, AED Leader $2,024.95Device alone $52.80Package premium About $813Ten year consumables The short answer. A Defibtech Lifeline VIEW AED

Table of Contents

Shop AEDs Now
Best prices on all devices reviewed in this article, authorised dealers, full warranty, expert support.
🛒 AED Leader

aedleader.com →

⚡ Response Ready

responseready.com →

Top Pick in This Guide

Editor's Pick
Philips HeartStart FRx AED 861304
Philips HeartStart FRx Review: Specs, Pediatric Key and Price
Editor reviewed

Mode

Semi-Automatic

IP Rating

IP55

Weight

3.5 lbs / 1.6 kg
$2,099.00 to $2,199.00

🎓

Not CPR Trained Yet?
AED Leader runs a 3-hour CPR/AED course and a 5-hour CPR, AED and First Aid course, each with a 2-year certification.

📋

Own 5+ AEDs?
AED Leader’s program management covers maintenance and compliance across all your devices.

The same G5 for $1,225

Recertified units are the same model under the same FDA premarket approval, restored and tested before resale. The device that stops a cardiac arrest does not care what you paid for it.

Cardiac Science Powerheart G5 (Recertified)Price verified 30 September 2026 at AED Leader and Response Ready
New $2,157$1,225You keep $932, 43% off
  • Same device, same approval. A recertified G5 carries the same FDA premarket approval as the new unit. It is not a clone and not a downgrade.
  • Minimum three year warranty, guaranteed. Most resellers give one year or less on a refurbished AED.
  • Free shipping on orders above $199 in the contiguous United States.
  • $932 back in your budget covers roughly 10 sets of replacement pads, which is the part that actually expires.

The honest risk. A recertified AED is a used device. That is why the three year warranty matters more than the price. If the warranty were one year we would not recommend it.

More from AED Brand Review: our recertified G5 page, the full G5 review, recertified versus new, and how to choose a refurbished AED.

Scroll to Top